Special Packages Available

Prism - Digital Download

Download all the tracks of Dave Holland’s Prism featuring Kevin Eubanks, Craig Taborn and Eric Harland

Only $10.98 Buy Now More Info

Prism CD + Digital Download

Copy of Dave Holland and Prism featuring Kevin Eubanks, Craig Taborn and Eric Harland which includes an immediate digital download!

Only $14.98 Buy Now More Info


Dave Holland featuring Kevin Eubanks, Craig Taborn and Eric Harland

Released on 2013-09-03 (Dare2 catalog # DR2-007)

Track Listing:

  1. The Watcher [6:56]
  2. The Empty Chair (For Clare) [8:31]
  3. Spirals [8:46]
  4. Choir [4:49]
  5. The Color Of Iris [7:27]
  6. A New Day [7:51]
  7. The True Meaning Of Determination [9:19]
  8. Evolution [10:24]
  9. Breathe [5:40]

Produced by Dave Holland.

Personnel: Dave Holland, bass; Kevin Eubanks, guitar; Craig Taborn, piano and Fender Rhodes; Eric Harland, drums.

For “Prism”, Dave’s latest recording, he’s assembled a quartet of outstanding players and composers who are also leaders in their own right, Kevin Eubanks on guitar, Craig Taborn on piano and Fender Rhodes, and Eric Harland on drums. The recording is representative of the wide range of musical references that these musicians incorporate into their music and it features compositions written by each of them for the group.

The album takes the listener through many musical landscapes starting with the infectious funky groove of the Eubanks’ composition “The Watcher” followed by one of Holland’s compositions, “The Empty Chair”, a soulful blues that hints at references to the music of Jimi Hendrix. Craig Taborn’s “Spirals” creates an intriguing setting for the group that moves through a series of dramatically changing musical developments and Eric Harland’s hauntingly beautiful composition “Breathe” provides a musical space that seems to suspend time.

The groups of Dave Holland have always reflected a collaborative spirit with the goal of creating a musical context that allows the musicians to express their creative individuality. “Prism” brings together four musicians who are each forging their own musical path and together have created a unique and contemporary musical statement on this recording.

Back to Discography Index »

Submit your email address to subscribe to Dave's email list and get a free download of the track "Joyride" from his new album Hands with Pepe Habichuela. You may cancel your subscription at any time. Check back often as new downloads will be made available over time! (Downloads will take a couple minutes to arrive in your inbox.)