Uncharted Territories

Dave Holland, Evan Parker, Craig Taborn, Ches Smith
  • Dave Holland - Bass
  • Evan Parker - Tenor Sax
  • Craig Taborn - Piano, Keyboards, Organ and Electronics
  • Ches Smith - Percussion
Buy CD Buy Download

DARE2 #DARE-010 - Release Date: May 11, 2018

Track List:

  1. Thought on Earth
  2. Piano-Bass-Percussion T1
  3. Q&A
  4. Tenor-Percussion W2
  5. QT12
  6. Tenor-Bass W3
  7. QW2
  8. Tenor-Piano-Bass T2
  9. Organ-Vibes W1
  10. Bass-Percussion T2
  11. Tenor-Piano-Percussion T1
  12. QT13
  13. Tenor-Bass-Percussion T2
  14. Piano-Percussion W3
  15. QT5
  16. Tenor-Bass W1
  17. Piano-Bass-Percussion T2
  18. Unsteady As She Goes
  19. Bass-Percussion T1
  20. QW5
  21. Tenor-Bass-Percussion T1
  22. Tenor-Bass W2
  23. QW1

UNCHARTED TERRITORIES, which will be released in 2CD and 3LP formats, reunites Dave Holland with saxophonist Evan Parker, a longtime friend from their early days in London. They are joined by Craig Taborn, on piano and electronics, and Ches Smith on percussion. In addition to quartet improvisations, they also broke off into every possible subset of duo and trio configurations. The group also recorded two compositions by Smith and one by Holland.The resulting 23 tracks present a series of deep, multi-layered conversations between the musicians, some of whom were interacting for the first time.